Seven word reactions to Oscar nominated films.

Every January, after the Oscar nominations are announced, my mother and I begin our annual mad movie marathon to see as many of the best picture nominees as possible, along with a few of the pictures nominated in the other major categories.

We rarely go to the movies other times of the year and I never go see the big blockbuster movies. (I haven’t seen a single Harry Potter, Batman, Spiderman or even Indiana Jones movie.)

But for some reason we make it a personal mission to go as many times as possible between the nominations and awards, sometimes seeing two or three films on a Saturday.

This can be a problem since I’ve discovered that even the most gentle movie makes me a little nauseous on the big screen. In preparation I have to take a Dramamine and wear travel sickness wrist bands, even for movies like Nebraska and Philomena.

Needless to say we skipped Gravity since I don’t think all the Dramamine in the world would allow me to get through all that floating around without puking.

This year we’ve seen all but two best picture and adapted screenplay nominees and all the best original screenplays, along with a majority of nominees in the actor awards.

(The other big one we opted not to see was 12 Years a Slave. I’m sure it’s great, but I don’t think I could stand it. I’m a movie wimp, I guess.)

Here are my seven word reaction each of the films we’ve seen.

American Hustle
Comb overs, perms and Amy Adams’s cleavage.

August Osage County
This was probably better as a play.

Blue Jasmine
Wait, this was a Woody Allen movie?

Captain Phillips
Did he really offer the pirates melon?

Dallas Buyers Club
Matthew McConaughey lived up to the hype.

Her
And I thought I loved my iPhone.

Nebraska
Heartbreaking and bleak yet somehow wonderfully uplifting.

Philomena
You should never trust a heartless nun.

The Wolf of Wall Street
Mom’s favorite film. Should I be worried?

Leave a Reply

