Six word descriptions of the best six books.

I attended “Pages in the Pub” tonight, an event where sixty people sat in a room drinking wine and beer while local literary experts (librarians and booksellers) talked about the best books from the past year.

Two things from the evening inspired this post.

First, to start off the evening we were asked to tell the person sitting next to us our favorite book from the past year.

And I blanked. I couldn’t think of a single book I’d read, let alone the best book.

I finally came up with a title, but I’m sure I appeared terribly unread and dim.

Second, on the printed list of recommended books, the expert provided a six word review of each novel.

So here are my six words on the best six books I read in the past year.

Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan
So began my O’Nan love affair.

The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta
I still think about this book.

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter
Modern yet epic; thoroughly engaging characters.

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan.
The cover glows in the dark.

The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
I lost myself in Zafon’s world.

The Thief of Auschwitz by Jon Clinch.
Surprisingly life-affirming for a holocaust novel.

And just for fun, here’s a six word review of the worst book I read last year:

A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard.
A sad tale very poorly written.

Leave a Reply

