Things They Don’t Teach in Arts Administration Programs #1

I’m a firm believer in education.

And my masters degree is arts administration gave me a lot of valuable information that contributes to my success as an executive director of a non-profit performing arts center.

But no program, no matter how comprehensive, can prepare you for everything.

So I’ve started a list of items I’ve needed to know in my job that aren’t covered in the standard arts admin curriculum and I plan to post them here from time to time.

Things They Don’t Teach in Arts Administration Programs

#1 – How to get bong water out of a carpet.

Our performing arts center, on occasion, will present a show whose audience enjoys a toke or two.

While we don’t allow it and certainly put a stop to it if we see it (it is still illegal after all), once in a while people will sneak weed and its accompanying paraphernalia by our ushers and into the theater.

Then they get dancing or twirling around or bouncing or one of the other things high people do at concerts and the next thing you know, there’s bong water on our carpet.

It doesn’t smell good and it stains. But no one ever taught me exactly how to best clean it up.

Who knew that a class on bong water would have been more helpful in my career than one on intellectual property rights?

One thought on “Things They Don’t Teach in Arts Administration Programs #1

Leave a Reply

