Slumping but trudging on.

The last thing I feel like doing right now is writing a blog post.

I have no excuses. I didn’t run a marathon, spend the day logging or cook a complicated gourmet meal.

I have no reason to not have the energy to write. I’ve done nothing more strenuous than laundry today.

But I still don’t feel like writing. And I haven’t for a while now. It’s like I’m fresh out of ideas, my creativity is tapped out.

I haven’t worked on my novel for weeks, maybe even months. I’ve gone from writing blog posts every day to every other day to Sundays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.

I tell myself slumps are normal. I’ve had them before. The proof is right here in my blog.

If this is a temporary slump, however, what do I do about it? Keep slogging through? Force myself to write banal posts about bookstores and my cats?

Or do I take a break? Put writing on a shelf and hope I rediscover my enthusiasm someday soon?

For now I’m going to keep trudging on.

All I can promise is that I’ll try not to whine or write about my cats too much.

Leave a Reply

