Four reasons for my vacation timing.

Most years I wait until the last week of August to take any vacation. I may have a long weekend here or there, but a full week break usually doesn’t occur until the end of the summer.

I have two “official” reasons for this timing.

First, opera season has ended and its finally slow enough that I don’t feel guilty about leaving one person alone in the office while I vacation.

Second, if I take the week before Labor Day, my vacation is extended by a day giving me 10 whole days of bliss.

Both of these reasons sound reasonable and respectable.

But I have two “unofficial” reason too — reasons that I’m a little embarrassed to share.

The US Open tennis tournament always starts the last week in August and I love staying up late to watch tennis, enjoying matches until the wee hours of the morning. It’s even more enjoyable when I don’t have to worry about getting up to go to work the next morning so I take my vacation in order to indulge in this pleasure.

While scheduling vacation around watching tennis on tv is silly, my other unofficial reason is just plain petty.

All summer my teacher friends talk about their vacations.

They aren’t necessarily bragging, just sharing what they are doing on their free days… trips, beaches and sleeping late. It’s the stuff of normal conversations and social media timelines (“No more school for two months. Woo hoo!” “Spent the day reading on my porch!”), but I’m always jealous of their time off.

I know they deserve the break and the idea of teaching makes me break out in hives, but a summer break sounds really nice.

So there’s also bit of schadenfreude involved in taking my vacation just as the teachers are heading back to school, in finally having some time to relax just as their stress is starting up again.

I’m not proud of it, but it is fun. Almost as much fun as the tennis.

5 thoughts on “Four reasons for my vacation timing.

  1. I love your logic, too. However, this is the FIRST summer in 49 years that I, a teacher, have not worked. And even in my recovery stages, I was dedicating 2-3 hours a day (albeit not all at once) to working on curriculum stuff. Ooh, can you tell you struck a nerve with me? 🙂

    • I know that lots of teachers work in the summer. I just seem to be surrounded by those who don’t. Or maybe my jealousy makes me overly aware of those who don’t!

      • 🙂
        I know what you mean about jealousy. It’s SO easy to see someone else’s job and think they’ve got it better than I do. I remember thinking that about your grad program. Simple truth…it just ain’t apples to apples!

  2. I guess I should clarify…I’ve been a teacher for 36 years…but I have worked every summer since I’ve been 10 years old (that’s where the 49 years comes from).

Leave a Reply

