I don’t need to be personal, political or funny.

I just spent a couple of minutes perusing the stats page of my blog.

That’s where WordPress show how many visitors you get, which posts are the most popular and how the people reading your blog found you.

More people have read the post on McDonald’s milkshakes than anything else I’ve written. By a lot.

The next most popular page is “about the author” and the McDonald’s post has five times more hits.

The second most read blog post was the one I wrote about some dolls I had as a child.

I’ve written many posts of which I have been extremely proud. Personal posts, political posts, funny posts.

I loved the one I wrote about RIP a few days ago, for instance. But relatively few people read it.

But apparently people prefer McDonald’s and the Honey Bunch Gang.

And those same people spend time googling “Did McDonald’s change their milkshakes?” and “honey bunch kids dolls” to find random websites about the topics.

It makes me wonder why they have so much time on their hands.

It also makes me think I should forget about personal, political and funny and write about fast food restaurants and toys from the 1970s more often.

One thought on “I don’t need to be personal, political or funny.

  1. Pingback: One Thousand Words on Being an Uglivore (Again) | One Thousand Words Project

Leave a Reply

