That’s a lot of ifs.

In recognition of the large number of activities, people and processes that stand between me and a published novel, I don’t often allow myself to daydream about being a real author.

I don’t picture my book on library shelves or practice my signature for book signings.

But as I sat in the audience at Booktopia on Saturday evening listening to talks by nine wonderful authors, I found myself thinking:

if I finish writing my book,
if I sort it out into some semblance of order,
if I rewrite it,
if I rewrite it again,
if I rewrite it at least one more time,
if I send out query letters to agents,
if an agent sees a smidgen of talent and wants to represent me (a big if),
if I like the agent,
if I rework the book with the agent,
if the agent finds a publisher who is willing to publish it (a bigger if),
if I rework the book with an editor,
if a bunch of things I don’t understand happen at the publishing company,
if the book actually gets published,
if more than two people (my mom and my most bookish friend) read it, and
if Ann Kingman and Michael Kindness (Hosts of the Books on the Nightstand podcast and hardworking organizers of Booktopia) ask me to attend the event as an author,

what would I talk about?

With all those ifs, I might be getting slightly ahead of myself.

Leave a Reply

