Why I hope I’m never arrested for a crime I didn’t commit.

I am far too susceptible to feelings of guilt.

On my way home from work the other day, I stopped for an old man in a cross walk.

As he passed in front of my car, someone honked their horn. It blew just once, like someone was locking their car remotely or setting the alarm.

I heard the horn, but didn’t think anything of it.

But it obviously upset him because when he reached the sidewalk, he turned back towards me, put his hands on his hips and glared at me as I drove by.

I can only suppose that he thought I had honked at him to move more quickly or get out of the way.

Even though I didn’t honk my horn and wasn’t even feeling impatient by his crossing, the old guy made me feel terribly guilty. Like I had actually beeped at a senior citizen.

Imagine if he had shaken his fist at me or given me the finger. I would have been downright suicidal with guilt.

The fact that I can feel guilty over something I didn’t do probably explains why my greatest irrational fear is getting arrested for a crime I didn’t commit. I’d probably end up confessing even though I was innocent. All the police would have to do is glare at me.

Leave a Reply

