Things that go crunch in the night.

My girl cat decided a year or so ago that she was going to live upstairs.

She wasn’t injured, sick or scared. She just didn’t want to come downstairs unless it was absolutely necessary.

During that phase, I started keeping a bowl of dry food upstairs for her. It’s silly now that I think about it because she still had to come down for water and the litter box, but it was a small concession to her sudden quirk.

She got over it but I still have the bowl of food up there, in the corner next to my bed.

I think the reason I haven’t removed it is that I love the sound of her eating in the middle of the night.

She scoops some food out with her paw, drops it on the floor and crunches it.

I’ll wake up and hear her.

Scoop, drop, crunch, crunch, crunch. Scoop, drop, crunch, crunch, crunch.

It makes me feel very fond of the sweet girl, even at 3 am.

Leave a Reply

