Welcoming 2013 with 80s karaoke cribbage.

I’ve never been a fan of New Year’s Eve so my celebrations tend to be mellow.

This year I went to a movie matinee then played cribbage with my mother.

And I discovered a 80s Flashback Party on the radio, which made me disproportionately happy.

I don’t know what it is about 80s music.

It’s not that I’m trying to relive my teenage years through the music. High school was fine, but nothing like a Sweet Valley High book or anything.

I wasn’t one of those popular, social kids so INXS and Rick Astley songs don’t evoke memories of my prom date or that totally awesome party after the championship football game.

But I still love the music, from “Karma Chameleon” to “I Hate Myself for Loving You.” It’s just plain fun.

Plus it’s so sing-alongable. I do love a good sing-along.

I don’t know if my mother enjoyed the 80s karaoke cribbage but I can’t think of a better way to welcome a new year.

Leave a Reply

