These are my guilty pleasure songs. Do you dare share yours?

As someone whose job is a hybrid of concert promoter and non-profit director, I often feel my musical taste is held to a higher standard.

I’m not being paranoid. Many of my regional colleagues call themselves “taste makers” and “curators” which not only sounds pretentious and superior, but implies that they have extraordinary taste in music, dance and theater.

Perhaps I hate those terms so much because I have a secret, one I have never shared with anyone at my organization or with friends at other venues. I really have quite poor taste in music.

Oh, I can talk a good game. I pretend that I know something about the blues or bluegrass or some other social acceptable genre. I throw out the names of a couple of cool albums just to make people think I listen to good music.

But if you climbed into my car when I wasn’t expecting visitors, you would find my radio tuned to the soft rock station, the one that prides itself on being perfect for “the workplace,” i.e. dentist and doctor’s offices.

Or maybe the classic rock station, if it happened to be the 80s hour.

I really just like music I can sing along too.

So, since I’m coming out of the bad music lover closet, I thought I’d share a list of my favorite guilty pleasure songs.

I know all these song are awful and have little to redeem them musically, but I offer this list with no apologies. Ok, maybe with just one or two apologies.

We start in the early 80s:

    “Karma Chameleon” by Culture Club
    “Wake Me Up Before You Go Go” by Wham

Then move a bit later in the decade:

    “Father Figure” by George Michael
    “Hold On To the Night” by Richard Marx
    “Wild Wild West” by Escape Club

Throw in some hair bands:

    “Don’t Treat Me Bad” by Firehouse
    “Every Rose Has Its Thorn” by Poison
    “To Be With You” by Mr. Big
    “Beth” by Kiss

We can’t forget the 90s:

    “Walk on the Ocean” by Toad the Wet Sprocket
    “The World I Know” by Collective Soul
    “I Only Want To Be With You” by Hootie and the Blowfish

Time for a little easy listening:

    “Take It Easy” by The Eagles
    “Fire and Rain” by James Taylor
    “Operator” by Jim Croce

There has to be at least one Christmas song:

    “Merry Christmas Darling” by The Carpenters

A bit of country to round things out:

    “Nobody” by Sylvia
    “Delta Dawn” by Tanya Tucker
    “Ode to Billy Joe” by Bobbi Gentry

And for the grand finale, the eultimate in guilty pleasures:

    Any song by Donny Osmond

So, now everyone knows about my terrible taste in music. But I’m not too worried about being judged because we all have a list like this.

We’re just not all stupid enough to share it.

One thought on “These are my guilty pleasure songs. Do you dare share yours?

  1. Pingback: Brilliant or shameless? | One Thousand Words Project

Leave a Reply

