My Definition of Friendship Includes an 80s Child Actor

Meeno Peluce.

Unless you are an aficionado of early 80s science fiction television shows or know everything there is to know about Punky Brewster star Soleil Moon Frye, you’re probably asking yourself, “What’s a Meeno Peluce?”

But Meeno Peluce is a who not a what.

He was the young actor who played Jeffrey Jones in Voyagers! (don’t forget the exclamation point), a television show from 1982.

Oh, and he’s Soleil Moon Frye’s half brother.

The premise of this show, which I’m borrowing from IMDB.com because it’s so wonderfully succinct and accurate, was that “a member of a league of time travelers and a boy travel through time repairing errors in world history.”

The time traveler was Phineas Bogg (best television name ever!) played by Jon-Erik Hexum. And as I said before, Meeno Peluce was the boy.

Phineas had the time machine thingamabob (called an Omni) and Jeffrey had the historical knowledge.

Frankly, that’s all I remember about the show.

But the words Meeno Peluce mean more than a child actor (and as I just learned on Google, a photographer). They mean friendship.

Years ago, too many for me to remember exactly how many years, my friend Nan and I went on a road trip.

I’m not exactly sure of our destinations. I think we went to upstate New York and Mystic, Connecticut. And there was a stop at some castle in Massachusetts or maybe that was in Connecticut too.

Nan is my silliest friend. Not that she’s silly, she’s just the friend that I get the silliest with. She makes me giggle.

She’s the friend that staged the motel on-the-run scene with me. And we once stopped in the middle of the street to take pictures of each other under a “dip in the road” sign.

This trip was full of laughter, even after I drove in the wrong direction for a half hour before Nan got up the nerve to tell me.

At some point during the trip, Nan and I started playing the Name Game. That’s where a person names a celebrity (Martina Navratilova, for example) then the other person has to come up with a celebrity whose first name starts with the first letter of the previous celebrity’s last name (Nicolas Sarkozy for instance.)

The only rules are that it has to be the name of a famous person and that you can’t repeat a name.

The no repeat rule can be a challenge when you play as long as Nan and I did on that trip. We played for days.

We started getting a little giddy with the names. We’d been through the entire cast of Eight is Enough, every member of every boy band we could think of and the authors of all our favorite children’s books.

Then one of us said “Meeno Peluce.”

I honestly don’t remember who said it, but what followed was a long discussion of who exactly Meeno Peluce was, the TV show and how anyone could possibly remember the name Meeno Peluce.

And lots of laughter.

Meeno Peluce became a thing with Nan and me, an inside joke and a buzz word that would reduce us to giggles.

We even had “Meeno Peluce Fan Club” pens made.

I don’t usually have long friendships. I don’t stay in touch with anyone from elementary or high school and Nan is the only college friend that I talk to regularly.

I just seem to be a shorter term friendship kind of person and that’s fine with me.

But longer relationships have their benefits too. Like being able to send a text saying only “Meeno Peluce” to someone who gets it.

To me, that’s the definition of friendship.

2 thoughts on “My Definition of Friendship Includes an 80s Child Actor

  1. Heather – I love the blog and am proud to say I own Voyagers on DVD. It’s available on Amazon and was one of my favorite shows of all times. I had a huge crush on Jon Erik Hexum.

Leave a Reply

