Independents and Republicans Confuse Me.

Apparently there are more registered “independents” than ever. But according to NPR, many of these independents aren’t really independent. They just like to think they are.

The article says:

There’s a paradox, however: Even as the number of independents in the United States has soared, presidential election after presidential election in recent years has come down to the wire. If a third of the country is truly open-minded about supporting either the Republican or the Democrat for president, the math alone suggests elections should regularly produce outcomes other than a 50-50 split.

Political scientists have known for some time that significant numbers of independents vote consistently for Democrats or consistently for Republicans.

I understand the desire to think that you aren’t buying the party line, that you are smart enough to listen to both sides and make an intellectual decision.

But most people have pretty set ideas about social issues and what role government should play in our lives. And even if you don’t agree with a political party’s entire platform, chances are you are going to come down consistently on one side versus another.

I pride myself on my independence, my ability to think and reason. Yet when I look at the issues that matter to me, I am a democrat. And when it comes down to it, I’m likely going to vote democrat.

Why kid yourself and declare independence unless you really are independent? The label doesn’t really mean anything if it’s just that.

While I’m on the topic of political parties, I have an honest question for any Republicans that happen to read this.

I admit I haven’t done much research, but I thought that the foundation of the Republican party was small government. Most Republicans don’t want the government taxing them, regulating them, or even providing programs to help them like Medicaid, welfare or grants for the arts.

Ok, so I’m over-simplifying it, but those are the basics, right?

So how does that desire for small government reconcile with wanting the government to tell women they can’t get an abortion? Or that gay couples can’t marry?

Aren’t those government regulations? Isn’t that contradictory to the party belief that government should just let citizens be?

These inconsistencies are most likely explained away by religion, as most valid arguments are in this country. I’m not even going to get into the separation of church and state here.

I’m not being facetious and I don’t have some sort of liberal agenda (Well, maybe I have a small liberal agenda), I’m truly hoping someone can explain how Republicans reconcile these beliefs.

Leave a Reply

