Put your music on the map.

I recently learned of The Guardian’s “Six Songs of Me” project via a post on Matthew Dick’s blog and became intrigued.

NPR described the project this way:

But why do we like what we like? What makes us choose Kanye over Coltrane, Mahler over Madonna, or Youssou N’Dour over Yeasayer? And what does it say about us, personally?

These and other questions about why music matters to just about everyone, in every culture, are posed in a recent article in the Guardian by musicologist Eric Clarke. And along with the Oxford professor’s theories, which range from scientific to social, the British publication has launched “Six Songs of Me,” a project to map as many personal playlists as possible.

Although it feels a bit like topic theft, I can’t help but post my own songs. After all, who doesn’t love to talk, or write, about their favorite music?

What was the first song you ever bought?

My first music purchase was the 45 of “Eye of the Tiger” by Survivor.

I can still remember the yellow plastic disc you had to insert in the center so you could play it on the stereo.

The song is from one of the Rocky soundtrack, movies I have never seen, but for some reason it resonated with the 12 year old me.

What song always gets you dancing?

“Love Shack” by the B-52s
is the only song that gets me dancing.

Tin roof! Rusted.

What song takes you back to your childhood?

I adored the Grease soundtrack as a young girl. I don’t remember seeing the movie until later, but I got the record from the library and renewed it for as long as they let me.

I knew all the songs, especially “Summer Nights”. I could sigh that cheesy “oh” exactly in time with John Travolta.

What is your perfect love song?

I’m not a girl who dreamed about her wedding. I never spent time looking at dresses or imagining exotic locations. Weddings are just a big waste of money.

But when I first heard “Heaven Help” by Lenny Kravitz I thought it would be a perfect first dance / wedding song.

What song would you want at your funeral?

This was the toughest question for me because I don’t want a funeral. Like weddings, I think they’re a waste of money.

But if I could ask all my friends to listen to one song in my memory, it would be “No Rain” by Blind Melon because it’s so mournful and hopeful sounding at the same time.

Time for an encore. One last song that makes you, you.

I don’t even have to think about this one: “Sweet Child O’ Mine” by Guns N’ Roses.

Your turn!

One thought on “Put your music on the map.

  1. First song I ever bought: I distinctly remember buying the 45 for Physical by Olivia Newton John when I was 12. (45?! How old am I?)
    Song that always gets me dancing: Shout! by ???? (Isley Brothers?) Though Love Shack is a good one too.
    Perfect love song: When I Fall in Love by Nat King Cole
    Song at my funeral: I have two, because I am morbid: A Little Fall of Rain from Les Miserables, and At My Funeral by Crash Test Dummies
    Song that makes me, me: Right now I have the live version of Duran Duran’s Wild Boys on endless repeat on the iPod. They mix it with Relax by Frankie Goes to Hollywood and it.is.awesome. I am a child of the 80s, what can I say….

Leave a Reply

