Kitty Theme Songs

Back in March I wrote a post about my theme song, “Real World” by Matchbox Twenty.

What I didn’t write at the time is that I so strongly believe in personal theme songs that each of my cats has one.

Yes, that’s right my cats have theme songs. Please make all of your cat lady jokes at this time…

Now that’s out of the way, I’m going to tell you about my cat’s songs.

My oldest cat, Sampras, has always been independent and feisty. More independent and feisty than most cats. So his theme song is “Stray Cat Strut” by the Stray Cats.

I know what you’re thinking. “Stray Cat Strut” is a completely unoriginal theme song for a cat. It even has the word cat in the title, for crying out loud.

But several lines in the song make it perfect for Sam.

First there’s “I strut right by with my tail in the air.” That’s exactly what Sampras does, especially if we’re talking to him. He can’t be bothered to look at a human. He has places to go and things to do.

Then you have “I got cat class and I got cat style.” Sam is the classiest cat I’ve ever had. He’s half Siamese so he has that elegant bearing. And once he got past the gangly kitten stage, he was incredibly handsome.

Even the vets think so, and they see a lot of cats.

A vet even told Sampras once that he had “the best butt I’ve seen all day.”

Yeah, I thought that was a little strange too, but tried to take it as a compliment.

Sampras is about as far from a stray cat as you can get, but he’s got the attitude that makes “Stray Cat Strut” his theme song.

My girl cat, Angel, is a tuxedo. She has huge eyes and loves to flirt, rolling around, craning her neck and begging you to rub her tummy.

Her theme song is “Devil in Disguise” by Elvis Presley.

Again, this probably seems like too obvious of a choice because her name is Angel and the whole gimmick of the song is “You look like an Angel, but you’re the devil in disguise.”

I admit that the word Angel drew me to the song in the first place, but Angel really is a devil in disguise. A sweet black and white cat that gets in to a mischief while looking innocent.

My nickname for her is “skunk monkey” because of her coloring and antics.

If there is something to jump on, a bug to chase or a piece of paper to rip, Angel is the first cat there.

And the first to purr sweetly while you clean up the mess.

Last but not least is Collins, our hefty tiger cat. By hefty I mean twenty pounds. He’s a big boy.

But he’s twenty pounds of pure love.

Collin’s theme is “I Want to Be Loved By You” by Marilyn Monroe, because he is the neediest cat I have ever known.

If you are sitting down, he needs to be in your lap. If your hand is idle, his head needs to be under it.

Collins follows my mother around during the day like a puppy. Moving from room to room after her, lying beside her computer while she emails, sitting at the table while she eats lunch.

I think his need for love and attention comes from being an abandoned kitten, but he and Angel were a pair, we think brother and sister, and she doesn’t seem to need people the way Collins does.

All I know is that Collins is a “boop boop de doop” cat.

I know this post probably makes me look nuts, giving my cats theme songs. But hey, we all have our quirks, right? I just post mine on the internet.

Leave a Reply

