Was I talking to myself?

My mind is rarely still and as a result I have a continuous monologue running in my head during almost every waking hour.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t hear voices, just my voice.

I’m thinking about a challenge at work, or writing a blog post, or developing the plot to my novel, or imagining how a future conversation or confrontation might go.

Occasionally, I’m so engrossed in my inner soliloquy that when startled out of it I wonder if I’ve actually been speaking aloud.

This happens a lot in the restroom.

You see, my office’s bathroom is open to the public. It has six stalls and it’s hard to tell if someone is in the ones on the opposite side of the room.

I’ll be all alone in the restroom, thinking my thoughts, when suddenly a toilet will flush. I’m immediately convinced that I haven’t just been thinking, but talking.

Many of the people who come in off the street to use the restroom are kind of nuts anyway, but I’d still hate to give someone the impression that I’m crazy.

And I’m certain that no one would be interested in hearing most of the thoughts that go through my head.

Does this ever happen to anyone else?

Leave a Reply

