Books that are calling to me from across the room.

I am in the middle of what might possibly be the most boring novel I’ve ever read.

I’m not going to tell you what it is because the author is a respected and prolific regional writer and many people enjoy his writing.

Maybe it’s just my mood but I’m about two thirds of the way through and I just don’t care.

As I slog my way to the end, because I’m determined to finish reading it, my mind keeps wandering to the books waiting on my shelves, both physical and digital, to be read.

I can’t help but think any of them would be better than the one I’m reading now.

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I was honestly not interested in this series at all until attending Booktopia last April. At lunch, one of the women talked about the series with such enthusiasm that I decided to give it a try.

I wasn’t even put off when she told us to give it a couple of hundred pages before deciding whether or not we liked it.

My only regret is that I bought it before I bought my e-reader. Even in paperback, it’s a hefty book.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

My friend Nan and I are going to both buy this and read it simultaneously. I don’t think we’ve done that since we both had to read Othello in college.

We probably won’t read it aloud with funny little adlibs like we did back then, but it should be fun.

I’m not a circus person. They skeeve me out. I don’t know if it’s the animals or the clowns or the side show atmosphere.

But I’m told even non-circus people love this book.

Rafa by Rafael Nada and John Carlin

I love, love, love tennis biographies! The only trouble with them is that they are sometimes not very well written.

But even that I can forgive when they start talking about tennis strategy and dishing dirt on the other players.

The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy

I have never read The Prince of Tides and I’ve never seen the movie.

The book was a gift from one of my employees who said it was a book every writer should read. I’m guessing there’s a writer in it, maybe?

I was just so flattered that she called me a writer that I decided to read it even if I hated the book.

Crossing the Borders of Time by Leslie Maitland

This is the last of the Booktopia Vermont books for me to read. I read the rest of them before the event because I think it’s more fun that way. But this one came out just the week before Booktopia, so I didn’t get the chance.

I did attend Ms. Maitland session though and she was spellbinding. I’ve been looking forward to the book ever since.

I’m going to stop writing now so I can finish the boring book and read one from this list.

One thought on “Books that are calling to me from across the room.

Leave a Reply

