What the hell is a bucket of distaste?

I’m not feeling very inspired tonight so I thought I’d try a writing prompt, but for some reason they never work very well for me at home.

It’s completely different when I take a prompt writing workshop. Maybe it’s the fact that I can’t reject the prompt, peruse the list for something better and never settle on one. Kind of like writing prompt channel surfing.

Or maybe it’s the pressure of knowing I’m going to be reading what I write out loud to a group of writers, some of them “real” writers, i.e. published, so I push myself further than I do sitting in my bed with a cat asleep on my feet.

Or maybe it’s just that being in a hushed room of people scribbling in notebooks is inspiring. (There’s a lot of scribbling. I’m the often the only one who uses a laptop.)

But I think it’s because the workshop leader finds good prompts. Better ones that I’m able to find.

I usually search the internet for prompts.

There’s this one website that is just a page with the numbers one through 346 on it. (I don’t know why it’s 346. Shouldn’t it be 352, one for each day of the year? Is there some significance in 346?)

When you put your cursor over a number, it shows you a prompt. Usually a stupid prompt.

Let’s start with #339, “Write about five things you would do to entertain yourself if you did not see a soul for seven days.”

That’s a stupid prompt because it’s a writing webpage. If a writer has seven uninterrupted days, they would write, right?

Throw in read, research, sleep and eat and your done.

How about #284, “List ten things you would buy with your last $20.”

If this were, “The world is coming to an end, how would you spend your last $20” it would be interesting.

But it’s your last $20 and you’re not going to die, so you have to be practical. You can’t go out and have fun on your last $20. You have to think about survival.

If I’m down to my last 20 bucks, I’d make sure I have food. Or medication, if I needed it. Or gas in my car so I could get to work and earn more money.

It’s a dumb prompt.

I can complete #227,“Why would a teacher contemplate a change of career,” in one word: Kids.

#51 is “List ten things you can do with tissue paper. Pick one from the list and write about it.”

Really? Write about something you can do with tissue paper? Maybe I’ll try that the next time I want to put my blog readers to sleep.

#74 was obviously written before Facebook, “Take out your high school yearbook and pick someone from your class. Write about what you think he or she is doing now.”

No fiction skills needed there. Just look at your timeline.

My favorite is #339 is “Write about a bucket of distaste.”

A bucket of distaste? I have never heard anyone use that phrase. What does that even mean?

Is it a typo? Was it supposed to be a bucket of waste? That would be a rather disgusting prompt, but at least I know what a bucket of waste is.

At least #339 requires a bit of imagination. I’d rather write about a bucket of distaste than things to do with tissue paper, unless I was writing for a crafting magazine.

One thought on “What the hell is a bucket of distaste?

Leave a Reply

