A little fiction.

I attended a prompt workshop tonight. We wrote from two prompts and the first became a scene in my novel so I’m not going to share it.

But the second prompt (“I brought you flowers”) ended up being a little scene or flash fiction type piece so here it is.

Let me know what you think!

==

“I brought you flowers.”

The young man held the bouquet out in front of him. The daisies still had roots.

She took them carefully, trying not to spill dirt on her cream wool carpet, and hurried into the kitchen.

“Please take off your shoes.” She called as she dumped the daisies in the sink.

She glanced around. She didn’t want to put all that dirt into one of her crystal vases, but didn’t want to keep him waiting while she trimmed off the roots either.

A thump came from the living room. “Are you ok?”

“um… yeah…. I just… my shoe… everything’s ok.”

She decided to leave the flowers where they were.

When she returned to the living room, the young man was straightening her almost original Monet.

“I just hit it when I was taking off my shoe. Sorry.”

She beckoned him to join her on the couch, to leave the picture alone and unharmed.

He padded over. His sock had a hole in the heel and she had a sudden, maternal urge to darn it for him. She had never even darned a sock.

He perched next to her, his leg bouncing up and down, his eyes jumping around the room.

“So what brings you to the city?”

His eyes went to her face. “This. You.”

“Oh, I thought you were here for…”

“No.”

She touched his knee to still his leg.

He addressed his question to her hand. “Why did you give me up?”

Leave a Reply

