One Thousand Words of Mindy’s Going Too

Daniel was sorting his khakis and button down shirts on his bed, trying to decide which ones to take to Vegas with him when someone knocked on his apartment door.

Distracted by his upcoming road trip, he answered without looking through the peephole first.

As soon as he opened the door, Mindy rolled two large, neon green suitcases into his living room.

“Are you packed yet?” She parked the suitcases next to his sofa and sat down.

“Uh, not yet.” Daniel shut the door and turned to her, a confused look crossed his face. “What are you doing?”

Mindy patted one of her suitcases. “What’s it look like? I’m going to Vegas with you.”

When Daniel didn’t respond, she jumped up off the couch and headed into his bedroom. “Come on! We’ve got to hit the road.”

He waited a moment then followed her. She was throwing pants and shirts into his small, brown suitcase.

“I don’t know what takes you so long to pack. You practically wear the same outfit every day.”

Daniel removed the items from his suitcase and started folding them neatly. “They’re not all the same. Some of the pants are blue and some are black.”

He caught the look of exasperation on Mindy’s face and laughed. “OK, they’re all the same. But I still want to fold them.”

Mindy sighed and perched on the edge of the bed while he repacked.

He waited until he was zipping the case shut before saying “Are you sure you want to come with me?”

Mindy grabbed his suitcase and carried it out to the living room. It was tiny compared to her bags. “Yep.” She wheeled her suitcases towards the door.

Daniel caught her arm. “Wait, Mindy. Why do you want to go with me? You don’t even like Pastor Sebastian.”

Mindy left her bags beside the door and sat down on the couch. Daniel sat beside her, just far enough away that their knees almost touched, but not quite.

“You’re right. I don’t like Sebastian. I think he’s a fraud and his little road trip proves it. But I like the congregation. They’re nice people. They don’t deserve to lose their money.”

“But I can take care of it. I know I don’t seem very forceful, but I’ll make…”

Daniel stopped talking when Mindy leaned over and kissed him.

When she pulled back, Daniel stayed frozen in place, his eyes open, not blinking.

“Daniel? Are you ok?” Mindy ran into the kitchen and Daniel heard the faucet running. She returned with a glass of water. “Here drink this.”

He took the glass, but didn’t drink.

“Daniel? What’s wrong?”

He slowly came back to consciousness. “Why did you do that?”

Mindy crossed her arms. Her eyes narrowed. “I thought you liked me, but I was obviously mistaken.” She stalked across the room toward the door.

“I didn’t say I didn’t like it.” He set the glass down on the coffee table. “It just surprised me.”

Mindy spun back to him. “Daniel, you are either the most naïve man on the planet or just plain clueless! We have been hanging out for months. I go to your stupid church with you. I even let you drag me to those awful horror movies you love. I show up on your doorstep with my suitcases to go to Vegas with you. Why would I do all those things if I didn’t like you? If I haven’t been waiting this whole time for you to kiss me?” She kicked the closest suitcase and it tipped over.

“You didn’t enjoy Saw V?”

“Oh, Daniel.” Mindy leaned against the door and closed her eyes.

“I like you too.” Daniel spoke in a whisper.

Mindy opened her eyes. “You have a funny way of showing it.”

“I have a confession to make. Pastor Sebastian said not to tell you, but I have to.”

Mindy stood up. “You’re an ex-con, aren’t you? I thought there was something strange about you. It’s like you’re not quite comfortable in society. What were you in for? Forging checks? Copyright infringement?”

“I’m not a convict! And if I had gone to prison, it would have been for something much more interesting than forgery or copyrights!” Daniel put his hands on his hips.

“Ok, what is it then.”

Daniels indignation gave way to embarrassment. “Remember how I told you about Ramona?”

“You’re ex-girlfriend? What about her?”

“She doesn’t exist. I made her up.”

Relief flooded Mindy’s face. “Is that all? I don’t care if you made up a girlfriend, Daniel.”

Daniel put his hands in his pockets. “That’s not all. I made her up because I didn’t want to tell you that I… I mean, I’ve never… I’m a virgin. I’ve never had sex. With anyone.”

Unable to stand still any longer, Daniel paced over the sofa. He sat and then stood up again.

Mindy walked over to him and took his hand. “Daniel, I like you. I don’t care if you’ve slept with a hundred girls or no girls. I just want to hold your hand, and talk to you and maybe kiss once in a while. We can go from there later.”

“Do you still want to go to Vegas with me?” he asked shyly.

“Yes!” Mindy responded so loudly that Daniel jumped. She wrapped her arms around him in a giant bear hug.

“Mindy?” his voice was muffled in her shoulder

“Yes, Daniel.”

“You know we’re only going for a couple of days, right? Why do you have so much luggage?”

Mindy released him and made up a face. “There are certain things a girl needs, Daniel.”

“But, how did you get them over here on your motorcycle?”

“I balanced them on my head.”

Daniel opened his mouth to ask another question but she interrupted him. “I took a cab, Daniel. Come on. Let’s go.”

“Geena Davis” she shouted over her shoulder as she pushed her suitcases out the door.

Daniel grinned. “Dennis Hopper,” he called back.

Leave a Reply

